Saturday, May 26, 2018

Vennam Jyothi Surekha team win silver and bronze at Archery World Cup

Jyothi Surekha Vennam was instrumental in India's compound team clinching two medals at the Archery World Cup.

It’s been an eventful year so far for Jyothi Surekha Vennam, one of India’s best compound archers. Last month, she teamed up with Abhishek Verma to win bronze at the Archery World Cup (Stage 1) in Shanghai. Barely two weeks later, she announced that she would go on an indefinite hunger strike in her hometown Vijayawada, due to the alleged delay in payment of Rs 1 crore promised to her by the Andhra Pradesh government, after she received the Arjuna Award for 2017. The 21-year-old, however, called off the strike after receiving assurances from government officials. The off-field distraction did little to dampen Jyothi’s spirits though, especially in the run-up to the ongoing World Cup (Stage 2) in Antalya.

The young archer continued her impressive form and found the cool and windy climes in Antalya much to her liking. Consequently, she was instrumental in India’s compound team clinching two medals at the showpiece event at this pristine beachside town. First up on Friday, she combined with Divya Dhayal and Muskan Kirar to win silver in the women’s team event. They went down to Chinese Taipei 228-231 in a close final.

Jiwanjot Singh, the coach of the compound team told that Jyothi’s role in the middle was crucial. “Her presence definitely helped, because others were relatively inexperienced, while Jyothi was in good form and had won a medal for us at the last World Cup. So, she knew what was expected from her in this important match.”

Winning these medals will not be the only takeaways for Jyothi. On a personal level, she also broke the individual national record during the qualification round, where she scored a stunning 706 (out of 720).

In doing so, she even bettered the personal best of Abhishek Verma’s 705 he had achieved in this tournament. “She was off to a phenomenal start here. Her personal best put her in second spot in the individual rankings,” Singh said. From winning three medals from the two World Cups, breaking the individual national record, and then climbing to the second spot in rankings, 2018 just keeps getting better for the archer from Vijayawada. Her team will be hoping that she carries this form into the Asian Games, which begins in over two months.

Thursday, May 24, 2018

List of (5) Kamma Rajya Sabha members (Present)

Nekkanti BhaskaraRao - MP (RS) - Odisha

1) Yalamanchili S Chowdary   TDP        Andhra Pradesh
2) Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar TDP        Andhra Pradesh
3) Garikapati RamaMohanaRao TDP Telangana
4) Nekkanti Bhaskar Rao          BJD         Odisha
5) S.R Balasubramaniyan    AIADMK               Tamil Nadu

Pi DATACENTERS Awarded 'India's Most Promising Brand'

Pi DATACENTERS (Pi) (Kalyan Muppaneni, Founder & CEO), India, Asia's Largest Uptime Institute, TIER IV Certified data center and enterprise cloud service provider, based at Amaravati, the new capital of the state Andhra Pradesh, India, has been conferred with the prestigious award of 'India's Most Promising Brand' in a glittering ceremony on 17th May, at the UK Asia Business Summit, 2018, that took place at Congress Hall, Congress Centre, London, UK.

The selection process saw eminent jury from various walks of the global industry, in collaboration with independent research organization, World Consulting and Research Corporation (WCRC) evaluate nominations, on the parameters of clarity of vision, precision of mission, innovation, brand relevance and customer impact.

UK Asia Business Summit 2018 featured close to 100 brands, from across 25 industry categories. The event witnessed participation of global industry leaders, bureaucrats, politicians, celebrities and media from different countries. Lord Raj Loomba - CBE, Lord Swaraj Paul, Lord Karan Bilimoria - CBE DL, Deputy High Commissioner of India and Mr. Dinesh Patnaik from United Kingdom, to name a few.

Being awarded 'India's Most Promising Brand 2018' is an appreciation of Pi's indigeneity and innovation. It reflects Pi's relevance in today's ever evolving digital landscape, its customer centricity, niche and the credibility they are constantly establishing in the already crowded, global market place of data center and cloud.

Speaking on the award, Mr. Kalyan Muppaneni, Founder & CEO, Pi DATACENTERS said, "This award is a recognition of our commitment towards being the best in the data center and cloud space and the contributions towards Digital India mission. We thank the jury, for this acknowledgement."

Sriharsha Doddapaneni Wins The Big Millions 2.0 (INR 25.5 Lakh)

Sriharsha Doddapaneni is the champion of Adda52 hosted Big Millions 2.0. The winner took home a massive amount of INR 25.5 Lakh. 

The Big Millionaire
 Overall, it’s been a great poker year for Doddapaneni in both live and online events. It was just last month when he shipped the 200k Super High Roller at the DPT Colossus SHR series in Goa. He collected his best live poker cash of INR 28,70,000 at the tournament.

The Big Millions started off at Adda52 in March this year and the tournament went live on their website. The final table, though, was laid out at the Deltin Royale in Goa.

The Final Table
 The final table commenced at 2 PM IST on May 15. The Adda52 LIVE Facebook page streamed all the action straight from the table. Doddapaneni started with the chip lead and continued to stay ahead in the race, grabbing the Big Millions 2.0 title eventually.

The Heads-Up
 Mihir Thakkar and Doddapaneni locked horns in the heads-up, with Sriharsha leading the chip count by a huge margin. In the final hand, both players went all-in pre-flop.

Doddapaneni had pocket nines and Thakkar ace-nine. When the river revealed four-six-jack-eight-two, neither of the players benefitted but that’s when Doddapaneni’s pocket nines emerged as the saviour and braced his victory straight away. It took less than an hour to announce the winner.

Speaking on his victory, Sriharsha said, “It feels amazing. My style of play on final table suits with having a big stack and really glad I made it count. Never lost the chip lead at any point and finished it quite comfortably in the end.

"And, of course, the most interesting part of the tourney is that final table was played live. I felt it is very interesting and can attract recreational more than any usual online MTT.”

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Meghana Bollimpalli won the Young Scientist Award in the Intel ISEF 2018

Meghana Chowdary Bollimpalli of Little Rock Central High School was named a grand prize winner in the Intel International Science and Engineering fair.

She won the Young Scientist Award and $50,000, plus $1,000 for her school. 

Meghana Bollimpalli, 17, of Little Rock, Arkansas, received one of two Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards of $50,000 for her novel, low-cost approach for synthesizing materials that could greatly cut the production and energy costs of making electrodes for devices like super capacitors. She found that combining common substances like tea and molasses with nitrogen and phosphorus in a commercial microwave formed a powder that could be used as a coating for electrode-like materials giving them similar properties of more expensive metals like platinum.