Monday, May 7, 2018

GM Rohit Lalith Babu wins National Chess Rapid title

Grandmaster Musunuri Lalith Babu clinched the National Rapid Championship title at the Gujarat State Co.op. Bank Ltd. (A.C Hall). Lalith defeated GM Swapnil Dhopade of Indian Railways in the final round while GM Aravindh Chidambaram edged out IM Dinesh Sharma on top board.

After a tough and nail-biting final round, Aravindh and Lalith tied for the first place with 9.5/11 points respectively. While Lalith emerged as the champion with a better tie-break score, Aravindh secured the second place. Both players exhibited a brilliant show of the game, keeping opponents on their toes with speed and powerful moves.

Post a Comment