Thursday, September 19, 2013

N. Leelakrishnan wins Indian Touring Cars (ITC) class

Noida: N. Leelakrishnan was crowned champion in the Indian Touring Cars (ITC) class in the fifth and final round of the National Racing Championship at the Buddh International Circuit here Sunday.

Leelakrishnan started on pole and convincingly led from start to finish. Arjun Balu starting second, also had a good start and was followed by Sivaramakrishnan and V. Ramnarayan.

Arjun managed to stay in second with Sivaramkrishnan all over him. Sivaramkrishnan made his move on lap three and passed Arjun with Ramnarayan also getting past a lap later.

Leelakrishnan was the first to cross the finish line but the penalty meant he ended up third which was good enough for the title. Balu finished second in the championship and Ramnarayan third.

N. Leelakrishnan, also known as Leela in Indian motorsport circles, is a seven-time National Rally Champion and one time Formula 3 (India) champion from Coimbatore.
Post a Comment