Saturday, November 11, 2017

Musunuri Lalith Babu crowned national chess champion

PATNA: PSPB Grandmaster Musunuri Lalith Babu was crowned the undisputed champion after Odisha GM Debashis Das defeated challenger Aravindh Chithambaram of Tamil Nadu in the National Premier Chess Championship here today.

Lalith Babu scored nine points in the tournament organised by All Bihar Chess Association.

In an equal position arising out of the Catalan opening, Babu surprised everyone by allowing GM Swapnil Dhopade to repeat the moves and get away with a draw claim in just 14 moves, shortest in terms of both moves and time.

Lalit, not happy with his play against Swapnil, was joyous with Debashis’ victory that not only gave him the title but also ensured his presence in the Indian team for the next Olympiad.

Post a Comment